Measurements

In two decades I’ve lost a total of 789 pounds.
I should be hanging from a charm bracelet.
~Erma Bombeck

I have said, when telling of this journey to friends, that this is either the coolest or the craziest thing I’ve ever done…probably a little bit of both!

Today, though, I did something REALLY crazy – I weighed and measured myself! GASP!! THE HORROR!!

I got on the scale.
I also took measurement of my upper arms, chest, waist, hips, thighs and calves.

funny-scale

I know! The entire time I was asking myself, “What are you thinking?!?”

And no…I’m not posting them.

This journey is about so much more than numbers. But the reality is that we are programmed to measure progress or lack of progress by numbers. We need to quantify something. And…there is a part of me that wants to get to the end of this and say, “I lost XX pounds and XX inches and XX dress sizes!”

I also know that there are greater, more important measures than what I wrote down today.

I started my MOVEMENT journey about a week before I started actually writing. So in the last two weeks, I’ve…

~ been to the gym more days than not
~ only had three Diet Cokes (trust me…that’s HUGE!)
~ gone through two of the big containers of spring mix salad from Costco
~ eaten four bunches of celery

But even those are about numbers…better numbers than just weight and size, but still numbers. I used to watch The Biggest Loser religiously. Not that I have anything against the show, but my life and schedule changed and realized I didn’t care enough or have extra time to watch it on demand or TiVo. I even went through a period where I would try to do some kind of exercise the entire show. Didn’t last long with that one. There are a lot of numbers and measuring on that show. Each week contestants can get sent home if they haven’t lost enough weight. That’s it. One number holds their fate. I don’t want that. And this journey will not be about that.

This week…
~ the instructor for my Zumba class remembered my name and told me she was glad I was becoming a regular
~ I remembered the choreography for one song and didn’t have to take a break to catch my breath
~ I feel better…most days. But even the aches and soreness are good aches.
~ I used to come home from work most days and do very little. Some days that is necessary, but I’ve found myself not able to sit in front of the TV as much. I want to get up and move. I need to get up and move.

I’m watching the numbers, but I’m watching for the little things, too. Which means that while I won’t share the actual numbers, what I will share is that the scale read 12 pounds lighter than the highest number I’ve ever seen on the scale. That was months ago. Not sure where I really was when I started two weeks ago, but I’ll take it!

So, this is me moving, shifting, measuring. Watching the numbers, but not too closely…and watching for the little signs of positive progress.

Leave a comment